The 46 best-rated primary schools in Derbyshire according to Ofsted

Currently, there are 46 schools with primary-age children which have been judged to be “outstanding” by Ofsted inspectors. Nine of them are in Derby and the rest are scattered across the county.

The list of the schools top-rated by Ofsted includes some special schools, some of which admit pupils from infant age and they can stay through to age 16.

Some of the schools in the list were judged to be “outstanding” several years ago and because of that status have not been fully re-inspected recently under a section five inspection, such as Griffe Field Primary School, Littleover (2012), Hardwick Primary School, Dover Street (2014), Homefields Primary School (2010) or William Gilbert Endowed Primary School, Duffield (2008).

Read more Derbyshire education stories

However, the Government says that schools that are good or outstanding should receive at least a section eight inspection, which does not give grades, every four years. If a school is found to be giving concern at that stage then it should be given a section five inspection within one to two years.

Outstanding Derby schools:

* Griffe Field Primary School, Littleover

* Hardwick Primary School, Derby

* Homefields Primary School, Chellaston

* Ivy House School, Littleover

* Lawn Primary School, Allestree

* Shelton Infant School, Shelton Lock

* St Giles’ School Spencer Academy, Chaddesden

* Wren Park Primary School, Mickleover

* Wyndham Spencer Academy, Alvaston

Outstanding Derbyshire schools:

* Aldercar Infant School, Langley Mill

* Ashgate Croft School, Chesterfield

* Ashover Primary School

* Bennerley Fields School, Cotmanhay

* Brockwell Junior School, Loundsley Green, Chesterfield

* Buxton Infant School

* Charlotte Nursery and Infant School, Ilkeston

* Combs Infant School, Chapel-en-le-Frith

* Crich Junior School

* Curbar Primary School, Calver

* Dronfield Infant School, Dronfield

* English Martyrs’ Catholic Academy, Long Eaton

* Holmesdale Infant School, Dronfield

* Kirk Ireton C of E Primary School

* Ladycross Infant School, Sandiacre

* Lea Primary School

* Litton C of E Primary School

* Longwood Infant Academy, Pinxton

* Melbourne Infant School

* Morley Primary School

* Newton Solney C of E Infant School

* Osmaston C of E Primary School

* Redhill Primary School, Ockbrook

* Sale and Davys C of E Primary School, Barrow-on-Trent

* Sawley Infant and Nursery School

* Shardlow Primary School

* St Anne’s C of E Primary School, Baslow

* St Elizabeth’s Catholic Academy, Belper

* St Joseph’s Catholic Primary School, Langwith Junction

* Stanton-in-Peak C of E Primary School

* Stubbin Wood School, Shirebrook

* Swanwick School and Sports College

* Walton On Trent C of E Primary and Nursery School

* Westfield Infant School, Brampton

* William Gilbert Endowed C of E Primary School, Duffield

* Willington Primary School

* Woodville Infant School